

President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Public Meeting Agenda November 21, 2013

National Academy of Sciences (NAS) 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC

Lecture Room

9:30 am	Welcome	from	DCAST	Co Chair	•6
9:50 am	weicome	irom	PUASI	Co-Chair	

John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director, Office of

Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST

Eric Lander, Co-Chair, PCAST

9:35 am PCAST Education Information Technology (EdIT) letter report

10:15 am PCAST Cybersecurity report

11:00 am Break

11:15 am Privacy discussion

11:45 am Public Comment

12:00 pm Adjourn Public Session



THE PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL OF ADVISORS ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY Member List

The President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) is an advisory group of the nation's leading scientists and engineers, appointed by the President to augment the science and technology advice available to him from inside the White House and from cabinet departments and other Federal agencies. PCAST is consulted about and provides analyses and recommendations concerning a wide range of issues where understandings from the domains of science, technology, and innovation may bear on the policy choices before the President. PCAST is administered by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). For more information about PCAST, see http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast.

John P. Holdren, Co-Chair

Assistant to the President for Science and Technology Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Eric S. Lander, Co-Chair

President

Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT

William Press, Vice-Chair

Raymer Professor in Computer Science and Integrative Biology University of Texas at Austin

Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair

Vice President

National Academy of Engineering

Rosina Bierbaum

Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment University of Michigan

Christine Cassel

President and CEO National Quality Forum

Christopher Chyba

Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and International Affairs Director, Program on Science and Global Security Princeton University

S. James Gates Jr.

John S. Toll Professor of Physics Director, Center for String and Particle Theory University of Maryland, College Park

Mark Gorenberg

Managing Director Hummer Winblad Venture Partners

Susan L. Graham

Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Emerita University of California, Berkeley

Shirley Ann Jackson

President

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Richard C. Levin

President Emeritus Frederick William Beinecke Professor of Economics Yale University

J. Michael McQuade

Senior Vice President for Science & Technology United Technologies Corporation

Chad Mirkin

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology Northwestern University

Mario J. Molina

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California, San Diego Professor, Center for Atmospheric Sciences at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Craig Mundie

Senior Advisor to the CEO Microsoft Corporation

Ed Penhoet

Director, Alta Partners Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Public Health University of California, Berkeley

Barbara Schaal

Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology Washington University, St. Louis Vice President, National Academy of Sciences

Eric Schmidt

Executive Chairman Google, Inc.

Daniel Schrag

Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Director, Harvard University-wide Center for Environment Harvard University

Staff

Marjory Blumenthal, Executive Director, PCAST Ashley Predith, Assistant Executive Director, PCAST Knatokie Ford, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow