

Committee Members

Mark D. Smith (Chair)

President and CEO, California HealthCare Foundation James P. Bagian

Professor of Engineering Practice, University of Michigan Anthony Bryk

President, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

Gail H. Cassell Former Vice President, Eli Lilly and Company

James B. Conway Institute for Healthcare Improvement Helen B. Darling

President, National Business Group on Health T. Bruce Ferguson

Professor and Inaugural Chairman, Department of Cardiovascular Sciences, East Carolina University

Ginger L. Graham President and CEO, Two Trees Consulting George C. Halvorson Chairman and CEO, Kaiser Permanente

OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMIES

Advising the nation/Improving health

Brent James

Chief Quality Officer, Intermountain Healthcare, Inc. Craig Jones

Director, Vermont Blueprint for Health

Gary Kaplan Chairman and CEO, Virginia Mason Health System

Arthur A. Levin Director, Center for Medical Consumers

Eugene Litvak President and CEO, Institute for Healthcare Optimization

David O. Meltzer Professor of Medicine & Economics, U. Chicago

Mary D. Naylor Director, Center for Transitions and Health, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing

Rita F. Redberg Professor of Medicine, UCSF

Paul C. Tang Chief Innovation and Technology Officer , Palo Alto Medical Foundation

2

1









































