

# President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Public Meeting Agenda January 6, 2017

# National Academy of Sciences (NAS) 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC

# Lecture Room

- 9:00 am Welcome from PCAST Co-Chairs John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST Eric Lander, Co-Chair, PCAST
- 9:05 am Public Comment
- 9:15 am Semiconductors Update & Vote
- 10:00 am NNI Update & Vote
- 10:25 am Forensics Update
- 10:45 am Break
- 11:00 am PCAST Accomplishments and Vision for the Future
- 12:00 pm Closing Remarks
- 12:10 pm Adjourn



#### THE PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL OF ADVISORS ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY Member List

The President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) is an advisory group of the nation's leading scientists and engineers, appointed by the President to augment the science and technology advice available to him from inside the White House and from cabinet departments and other Federal agencies. PCAST is consulted about and provides analyses and recommendations concerning a wide range of issues where understandings from the domains of science, technology, and innovation may bear on the policy choices before the President. PCAST is administered by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). For more information about PCAST, see <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast">http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast</a>.

John P. Holdren, Co-Chair Assistant to the President for Science and Technology Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Eric S. Lander, Co-Chair President and Director Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

William Press, Vice-Chair Raymer Professor in Computer Science and Integrative Biology University of Texas at Austin

Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair Honeywell (Ret.)

Wanda M. Austin The Aerospace Corporation (Ret.)

### **Rosina Bierbaum**

Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment University of Michigan Roy F. Westin Chair in Natural Economics, School of Public Policy University of Maryland

Christine Cassel Planning Dean Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine

**Christopher Chyba** Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and International Affairs Princeton University

**S. James Gates, Jr.** John S. Toll Professor of Physics Director, Center for String and Particle Theory University of Maryland, College Park

Mark Gorenberg Founder and Managing Director Zetta Venture Partners

Susan L. Graham Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Emerita University of California, Berkeley J. Michael McQuade

Senior Vice President for Science & Technology United Technologies Corporation

Chad Mirkin

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology Northwestern University

## Mario J. Molina

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California, San Diego Professor, Center for Atmospheric Sciences Scripps Institution of Oceanography

## **Craig Mundie**

President Mundie & Associates

### **Ed Penhoet**

Associate Dean of Biology, University of California, Berkeley Director, Alta Partners

### **Barbara Schaal**

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology Washington University, St. Louis

### Eric Schmidt

Executive Chairman Alphabet Inc

# **Daniel Schrag**

Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Director, Harvard University Center for Environment Harvard University

Staff

Ashley Predith, Executive Director, PCAST Jennifer Michael, Program Support Specialist, PCAST