

President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Public Meeting Agenda July 14, 2015

National Academy of Sciences (NAS) 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC

Lecture Room

(All times subject to change)

9:00 am	Welcome from PCAST Co-Chairs
	John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director,
	Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST
	<i>Eric Lander</i> , Co-Chair, PCAST
9:05 am	Human Space Exploration
	Charles F. Bolden, Administrator, National Aeronautics and Space
	Administration (NASA)
	William H. Gerstenmaier, Associate Administrator for the Human Exploration
	and Operations, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
	<i>Garrett Reisman</i> , Director of Crew Operations, SpaceX
	- · ·
	John Elbon, Vice President and General Manager, Space Exploration, The
	Boeing Company
10:00 am	Review of the Networking and Information Technology Research and
	Development (NITRD) Program
	<i>Eric Schmidt</i> , PCAST; PITAC Co-Chair
	J. Michael McQuade, PCAST
	Gregory D. Hager, Professor and Chair of Computer Science, Johns Hopkins University
	Gregory D. Huger, Professor and Chan of Computer Science, Johns Hopkins University
10:45 am	Break
11:00 am	Technology and Aging: Innovators
	Seth Sternberg, CEO and Co-Founder, Honor
	Kai Stinchcombe, Founder and CEO, True Link Financial
11:45 am	Public Comment
12:00 pm	Adjourn Public Session



THE PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL OF ADVISORS ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY Member List

The President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) is an advisory group of the nation's leading scientists and engineers, appointed by the President to augment the science and technology advice available to him from inside the White House and from cabinet departments and other Federal agencies. PCAST is consulted about and provides analyses and recommendations concerning a wide range of issues where understandings from the domains of science, technology, and innovation may bear on the policy choices before the President. PCAST is administered by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). For more information about PCAST, see http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast.

John P. Holdren, Co-Chair Assistant to the President for Science and Technology Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Eric S. Lander, Co-Chair President and Director Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

William Press, Vice-Chair Raymer Professor in Computer Science and Integrative Biology University of Texas at Austin

Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair Honeywell (Ret.)

Wanda M. Austin President and CEO The Aerospace Corporation

Rosina Bierbaum Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment University of Michigan

Christine Cassel President and CEO National Quality Forum

Christopher Chyba

Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and International Affairs Director, Program on Science and Global Security Princeton University

S. James Gates, Jr.

John S. Toll Professor of Physics Director, Center for String and Particle Theory University of Maryland, College Park

Mark Gorenberg Founder and Managing Director Zetta Venture Partners

Susan L. Graham

Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Emerita University of California, Berkeley J. Michael McQuade

Senior Vice President for Science & Technology United Technologies Corporation

Chad Mirkin

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology Northwestern University

Mario J. Molina

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California, San Diego Professor, Center for Atmospheric Sciences Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Craig Mundie

President Mundie & Associates

Ed Penhoet

Associate Dean of Biology, University of California, Berkeley Director, Alta Partners

Barbara Schaal

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology Washington University, St. Louis

Eric Schmidt

Executive Chairman Google, Inc.

Daniel Schrag

Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Director, Harvard University Center for Environment Harvard University

Staff

Marjory Blumenthal, Executive Director, PCAST Ashley Predith, Assistant Executive Director, PCAST Diana Pankevich, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow Jennifer Michael, Program Support Specialist, PCAST