

# President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Public Meeting Agenda May 15, 2015

# National Academy of Sciences (NAS) 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC

# Lecture Room

(All times subject to change)

9:00 am Welcome from PCAST Co-Chairs

*John Holdren*, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST

Eric Lander, Co-Chair, PCAST

9:05 am Quadrennial Energy Review

Ernest Moniz, Secretary of Energy

Jonathan Pershing, Principal Deputy Director of the Office of Energy Policy and

Systems Analysis, US Department of Energy

10:00 am Precision Medicine Initiative

Tania Simoncelli, Assistant Director, Forensic Science and Biomedical

Innovation, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)

George D. Yancopoulos, President and Chief Scientific Officer, Regeneron Laboratories

**Richard Lifton**, Sterling Professor of Genetics and Internal Medicine, Chair at the Department of Genetics and Investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute,

School of Medicine, Yale University

Todd Golub, Founding Core Member, Chief Scientific Officer, and Director,

Cancer Program, The Broad Institute, MIT, Harvard University

10:45 am Break

11:00 am Reimagining Capitalism: Business & the Big Problems

**Rebecca Henderson**, John and Natty McArthur University Professor, Harvard University

11:45 am Public Comment

12:00 pm Adjourn Public Session



# THE PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL OF ADVISORS ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY Member List

The President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) is an advisory group of the nation's leading scientists and engineers, appointed by the President to augment the science and technology advice available to him from inside the White House and from cabinet departments and other Federal agencies. PCAST is consulted about and provides analyses and recommendations concerning a wide range of issues where understandings from the domains of science, technology, and innovation may bear on the policy choices before the President. PCAST is administered by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). For more information about PCAST, see <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast">http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast</a>.

### John P. Holdren, Co-Chair

Assistant to the President for Science and Technology Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

# Eric S. Lander, Co-Chair

President and Director Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

### William Press, Vice-Chair

Raymer Professor in Computer Science and Integrative Biology University of Texas at Austin

# Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair

Honeywell (Ret.)

# Wanda M. Austin

President and CEO
The Aerospace Corporation

# Rosina Bierbaum

Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment University of Michigan

# **Christine Cassel**

President and CEO National Quality Forum

# **Christopher Chyba**

Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and International Affairs Director, Program on Science and Global Security Princeton University

# S. James Gates, Jr.

John S. Toll Professor of Physics Director, Center for String and Particle Theory University of Maryland, College Park

# **Mark Gorenberg**

Founder and Managing Director Zetta Venture Partners

#### Susan L. Graham

Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Emerita University of California, Berkeley

# J. Michael McQuade

Senior Vice President for Science & Technology United Technologies Corporation

# **Chad Mirkin**

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology Northwestern University

### Mario J. Molina

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California, San Diego Professor, Center for Atmospheric Sciences Scripps Institution of Oceanography

# Craig Mundie

President Mundie & Associates

# **Ed Penhoet**

Associate Dean of Biology, University of California, Berkeley Director, Alta Partners

# Barbara Schaal

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology Washington University, St. Louis

# **Eric Schmidt**

Executive Chairman Google, Inc.

### **Daniel Schrag**

Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Director, Harvard University Center for Environment Harvard University

## Staff

Marjory Blumenthal, Executive Director, PCAST
Ashley Predith, Assistant Executive Director, PCAST
Diana Pankevich, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow
Jennifer Michael, Program Support Specialist, PCAST