

# President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Public Meeting Agenda May 20, 2016

# National Academy of Sciences (NAS) 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC

# **Lecture Room**

9:00 am Welcome from PCAST Co-Chairs

John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director,

Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST

Eric Lander, Co-Chair, PCAST

9:05 am Forensics

9:25 am Near Earth Objects

**Benjamin Alvin Drew**, Assistant Director, Space and Aviation Security, National Security and International Affairs Division, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)

*Lindley Johnson*, Program Executive for Near Earth Object Programs, Planetary Defense Officer, Planetary Science Division, NASA Headquarters Science Mission Directorate

*Bhavya Lal*, Research Staff Member, IDA Science and Technology Policy Institute *Leviticus A. Lewis*, Chief, National Response Coordination Branch, Federal Emergency Management Agency

10:25 am Break

10:40 am Cryptocurrencies

Jerry Brito, Executive Director, Coin Center

Joseph Bonneau, Postdoctoral Researcher, Stanford University, and Technology

Fellow, Electronic Frontier Foundation

Simon Johnson, Ronald A. Kurtz Professor of Entrepreneurship, MIT Sloan

School of Management

*Tim Grant*, Managing Director, R3CEV (R3)

11:40 am Public Comment

12:00 pm Adjourn Public Session



# THE PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL OF ADVISORS ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY Member List

The President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) is an advisory group of the nation's leading scientists and engineers, appointed by the President to augment the science and technology advice available to him from inside the White House and from cabinet departments and other Federal agencies. PCAST is consulted about and provides analyses and recommendations concerning a wide range of issues where understandings from the domains of science, technology, and innovation may bear on the policy choices before the President. PCAST is administered by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). For more information about PCAST, see <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast">http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast</a>.

#### John P. Holdren, Co-Chair

Assistant to the President for Science and Technology Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

# Eric S. Lander, Co-Chair

President and Director Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

# William Press, Vice-Chair

Raymer Professor in Computer Science and Integrative Biology University of Texas at Austin

# Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair

Honeywell (Ret.)

# Wanda M. Austin

President and CEO
The Aerospace Corporation

# Rosina Bierbaum

Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment University of Michigan

# **Christine Cassel**

Planning Dean Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine

#### **Christopher Chyba**

Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and International Affairs Director, Program on Science and Global Security Princeton University

# S. James Gates, Jr.

John S. Toll Professor of Physics Director, Center for String and Particle Theory University of Maryland, College Park

# **Mark Gorenberg**

Founder and Managing Director Zetta Venture Partners

#### Susan L. Graham

Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Emerita University of California, Berkeley

## J. Michael McOuade

Senior Vice President for Science & Technology United Technologies Corporation

# **Chad Mirkin**

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology Northwestern University

#### Mario J. Molina

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California, San Diego Professor, Center for Atmospheric Sciences Scripps Institution of Oceanography

# **Craig Mundie**

President Mundie & Associates

# **Ed Penhoet**

Associate Dean of Biology, University of California, Berkeley Director, Alta Partners

# Barbara Schaal

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology Washington University, St. Louis

#### **Eric Schmidt**

Executive Chairman Alphabet Inc

#### Daniel Schrag

Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Director, Harvard University Center for Environment Harvard University

### Staff

Ashley Predith, Executive Director, PCAST

Diana Pankevich, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow

Jennifer Michael, Program Support Specialist, PCAST