

# President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Public Meeting Agenda November 20, 2015

# National Academy of Sciences (NAS) 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC

# **Room 120**

9:00 am	Welcome from PCAST Co-Chairs
	John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director,
	Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST
	Eric Lander, Co-Chair, PCAST
9:05 am	Hearing and Technology: Public Airing of Report Findings and Recommendations; Context of Ongoing Project on Technologies to Help Aging Americans
9:30 am	Nanotechnology: Anniversary of PCAST Report, and A Grand Challenge is Born <i>Lloyd Whitman</i> , Assistant Director for Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)
10:00 am	Private Sector Adaptation to Climate Change
10:45 am	Break
11:00 am	Academic Research: Making Sure the Rules of the Road Don't Stop the Traffic Larry R. Faulkner, President Emeritus, The University of Texas at Austin Barbara E. Bierer, Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
11:45 am	Public Comment
12:00 pm	Adjourn Public Session



# THE PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL OF ADVISORS ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY Member List

The President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) is an advisory group of the nation's leading scientists and engineers, appointed by the President to augment the science and technology advice available to him from inside the White House and from cabinet departments and other Federal agencies. PCAST is consulted about and provides analyses and recommendations concerning a wide range of issues where understandings from the domains of science, technology, and innovation may bear on the policy choices before the President. PCAST is administered by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). For more information about PCAST, see <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast">http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast</a>.

#### John P. Holdren, Co-Chair

Assistant to the President for Science and Technology Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

# Eric S. Lander, Co-Chair

President and Director Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

# William Press, Vice-Chair

Raymer Professor in Computer Science and Integrative Biology University of Texas at Austin

# Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair

Honeywell (Ret.)

# Wanda M. Austin

President and CEO
The Aerospace Corporation

# Rosina Bierbaum

Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment University of Michigan

# **Christine Cassel**

President and CEO National Quality Forum

# **Christopher Chyba**

Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and International Affairs Director, Program on Science and Global Security Princeton University

# S. James Gates, Jr.

John S. Toll Professor of Physics Director, Center for String and Particle Theory University of Maryland, College Park

# **Mark Gorenberg**

Founder and Managing Director Zetta Venture Partners

#### Susan L. Graham

Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Emerita University of California, Berkeley

# J. Michael McQuade

Senior Vice President for Science & Technology United Technologies Corporation

# **Chad Mirkin**

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology Northwestern University

#### Mario J. Molina

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California, San Diego Professor, Center for Atmospheric Sciences Scripps Institution of Oceanography

# **Craig Mundie**

President Mundie & Associates

# **Ed Penhoet**

Associate Dean of Biology, University of California, Berkeley Director, Alta Partners

### Barbara Schaal

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology Washington University, St. Louis

#### **Eric Schmidt**

Executive Chairman Alphabet Inc

#### **Daniel Schrag**

Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Director, Harvard University Center for Environment Harvard University

### Staff

Marjory Blumenthal, Executive Director, PCAST Ashley Predith, Assistant Executive Director, PCAST Diana Pankevich, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow Jennifer Michael, Program Support Specialist, PCAST