

President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Public Meeting Agenda November 18, 2016

National Academy of Sciences (NAS) 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC

Lecture Room

9:00 am Welcome from PCAST Co-Chairs

John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director, Office

of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST

Eric Lander, Co-Chair, PCAST

9:05 am 2016 NRC Review of the NNI

Celia Merzbacher, Vice President of Innovative Partnerships, Semiconductor Research

Corporation

James Murday, Director of Physical Sciences, University of Southern California

Sankar Basu, Program Director, National Science Foundation

Robinson Pino, Program Manager, Office of Science, US Department of Energy **Lloyd Whitman**, Assistant Director for Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials,

Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)

9:45 am Drinking Water S&T Update

10:30 am **Break**

10:45 am Semiconductors

11:00 am Agricultural Biodefense

Michael Scuse, Under Secretary for Farm and Foreign Agricultural Services, US

Department of Agriculture

Jere L. Dick, Associate Administrator, USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service

Steven M. Kappes, Associate Administrator, USDA Agricultural Research Service James Roth, Clarence Hartley Covault Distinguished Professor, Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Preventive Medicine, Iowa State University

11:50 am Public Comment

12:00 pm Adjourn Public Session



THE PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL OF ADVISORS ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY Member List

The President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) is an advisory group of the nation's leading scientists and engineers, appointed by the President to augment the science and technology advice available to him from inside the White House and from cabinet departments and other Federal agencies. PCAST is consulted about and provides analyses and recommendations concerning a wide range of issues where understandings from the domains of science, technology, and innovation may bear on the policy choices before the President. PCAST is administered by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). For more information about PCAST, see http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast.

John P. Holdren, Co-Chair

Assistant to the President for Science and Technology Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Eric S. Lander, Co-Chair

President and Director Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

William Press, Vice-Chair

Raymer Professor in Computer Science and Integrative Biology University of Texas at Austin

Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair

Honeywell (Ret.)

Wanda M. Austin

The Aerospace Corporation (Ret.)

Rosina Bierbaum

Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment University of Michigan Roy F. Westin Chair in Natural Economics, School of Public Policy University of Maryland

Christine Cassel

Planning Dean Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine

Christopher Chyba

Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and International Affairs Princeton University

S. James Gates, Jr.

John S. Toll Professor of Physics Director, Center for String and Particle Theory University of Maryland, College Park

Mark Gorenberg

Founder and Managing Director Zetta Venture Partners

Susan L. Graham

Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Emerita University of California, Berkeley

J. Michael McQuade

Senior Vice President for Science & Technology United Technologies Corporation

Chad Mirkin

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology Northwestern University

Mario J. Molina

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California, San Diego Professor, Center for Atmospheric Sciences Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Craig Mundie

President Mundie & Associates

Ed Penhoet

Associate Dean of Biology, University of California, Berkeley Director, Alta Partners

Barbara Schaal

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology Washington University, St. Louis

Eric Schmidt

Executive Chairman Alphabet Inc

Daniel Schrag

Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Director, Harvard University Center for Environment Harvard University

Staff

Ashley Predith, Executive Director, PCAST

Diana Pankevich, OSTP

Jennifer Michael, Program Support Specialist, PCAST